Philosophy

snickersnicker

Anyone here currently studying philosophy or already have a philosophy degree? Or anyone with a general interest beyond "hey, existentialism is really cool, man"?

I'm in my second year of coursework toward a philosophy degree with a focus on political/law theory and applied ethics. Main interests include Kantian ethical theory, universal prescriptivism, environmental ethics, bioethics, altruism, moral realism and absolutism, etc. I don't know much about the other areas of philosophy (epistemology and metaphysics, specifically), but I'm sure over the next two years I'll get a relative overview of them.

Also, I'm going to see Peter Singer speak on bioethics and human dignity pretty soon. Should be awesome, even though I'll be surrounded by a bunch of total weiners.

I am in my third year of studying philosophy now, and will probably have my bachelor the end of this college year, then I'll probably do a masters in philosophy of culture and art.

I have a wide interest, but some areas I keep coming back more to are things like phenomenology, aesthetics, critical theory, philosophy of mind, stuff like that.

I ofcourse have had to do courses in every major field, so the basics of ethics, logic, metaphysics, philosophy of language, epistemology, political philosophy have all been done. In my opinion the most interesting writers have had a impact on a multitude of fields, so it's the best to try and make connections to things that might not be your first interest and keep your eyes open.

I must admit that I am more aimed at theoretical philosophy than practical philosophy. I don't see myself doing anything other then mostly reading and writing, which is what it will come down to for a lot of people getting this degree. So I don't really have a interest in working within a company or do applied philosophy or something like that.