Slim fit minimalist clothing?

madgrad

My question is a simple one with an answer that so far has eluded me. I'm a graduate student in my early 20's and I'm trying to dress with a bit more style and class than those around me without trying to be too cutting edge and failing. I don't have model looks or sensibility so I'm not even going to try and delude myself into thinking I can dress like one.

Basically I'm in the process of changing my wardrobe. My closet is full of striped shirts which are baggy, a couple of generic polos, a ton of t-shirts that I love because they aren't that common, and some decent jeans. I'm suffering from what can be described as a sort of visual burn out. I go out to bars and clubs and alot of the clothes guys are wearing strike me as guady and generic simultaneously: The same striped shirts that don't fit, baggy destroyed jeans, popped collar polos, etc.

What I'm looking to do is change my style a little bit and purchase pieces that are more of a simple look, single colors, more of a minimalist look. My problem that I've run into over and over again is fit. T-shirts are no problem, a small fits me perfectly. The problem are dress shirts or any long sleeve shirt really. I'm 6'3, about 150 pounds and I have fairly long arms. The best fit shirt I have comes from H&M, it's a medium and the sleeves are a perfect length, not baggy, and it's snug in the chest. Jeans I'm ok on, I have a few pairs of jeans that fit pretty well and I'm ordering a pair of dry APC Standards tomorrow, can't wait to break them in.

Any advice on where to shop for slim fit shirts, sweaters and hoodies would be appreciated. I live in Maryland and I can drive an hour down to DC so I have a pretty good selection at my disposal, just looking for help or a nudge in the right direction. I'll order online too .

Here's what I wore today for a general idea of my build. I'm a 30/34 in my pants.

salvage0257lj.jpg