Chain stitching in the UK

fre-co

Would you pay for a chainstitch denim alteration service in the UK?  

18 members have voted

1. 1. Would you pay for a chainstitch denim alteration service in the UK?

• Yes, thats a good idea
    • I wouldn't pay more than my local tailor
    • No, not interested

This is just to test the water really.....

My mum has the opportunity to aquire a union special chain stitch machine, as she is an seamstress/upholsterer by trade and has a cousin in the sewing machine business.

Now, as far as I know there is nowhere in the UK that offers a hemming service with chainstitching, so my question is, would people be interested in a mail order service if it was available?

Obviously the machine is quite an outlay in the first place so it would be quite nice to get some feedback from denim heads before any further enquiries are made.

The next step of course would be to source the correct quality of cotton thread and colours for different denim makers.

Cheers

oh. my. god.

I would happily pay a bit for chainstitch.

yes yes yes.

I think a guy called synthi would too. Hes very clued up about threads and whatnot, I imagine he would be able to drop some knowledge your way...

Ive been contemplating if its really worth it to post my sammies to big and back actually, please please keep me posted on this.

edit - check this thread out.

http://www.superfuture.com/supertalk/showthread.php?t=21570

Yes I read that thread, I was wondering if it would be a viable option.

We are not in it to make enough money to retire and buy a carribean island but as long as we can make enough money to pay for the machine and labour, it would be something worthwhile. If on the other hand its, yourself, synthi and me who are the only people particular enough about hemming then it may take a few years to pay for the machine!