Starting on on-line business...

home

Yeah, I know, I'm almost a decade late, but I figure I've got a bit of a niche market that might just work.

I'm young, 19, and want to get an online store up-and-running, selling particular products.

I have a decent amount (well, i think it is) of capital saved that I'm willing to outlay on this project.

Essentially I will be looking to research, study the market and look into distributers over the next year, and maybe try and launch something early next year.

My question is, whilst I am very computer-literate (grew up with computer from age 9), I have little to no experience in creating/managing a website, let alone one that sells products. I think I woud like to design/maintan the website myself, as I have a little bit of a graphic design/computer-aided-design background. How hard is it going to be?

Essentially I'm looking for some sort of direction in terms of where I start this thing. The obvious choice would be to read books, but I always get the feeling that the moment I pick up a text regarding anything internet related, it is already well and truly obsolete.

However, I have popped onto amazon and spotted a few books, namely 'Starting an Online Business For Dummies' (ahah, i know, typical).

If anyone can put their two cents in, or give me some direction or advice on how to approach this venture, or any texts or outlets that may assist in my development, I would be very much appreciative.

Thanks again!

if you need some e-commerce consulting, shoot me a PM... I do all things oscommerce / zencart / cre reload + photography... ;)

Guest Goose25

heya, can i make asuggestion?