first timer in toronto

gutsofgold

im heading toronto in the morning and im hoping i can get some last minute advice...

i have the entire day practically to shop around and just check stuff out...

im looking for good denim stores, kind of 'different' shopping boutiques, and also cool places to eat that aren't too expensive. im thinking of spending a couple bucks for lunch and dinner wont hurt to drop like $20-30 a person on a meal.

so basically where is all the cool shopping boutiques/record stores/and good eats?

im a teenager so im looking for the more hip areas and if anyone can recommend some cheap sushi taht would be cool too.

i'm an american student in toronto who has completed a year here. sadly, i still don't know the place that well.

there's already a million threads on where to find things in toronto -- because shopping in toronto sucks. the kids here go to new york to buy clothing, or other places. try searching the board for advice

anyways, i'll give you a quick list off the top of my head.

for denim try tnt blu and lileo. tnt blu is in yorkville in this weird shopping mall near whole foods, the four seasons hotel, and a rolls royce dealership. lileo is on queen west, further west than the zara and crap. queen st west is supposed to be the city's "arty" area. also, checkout kensington market for vintage stores and maybe an interesting botique or two.

all the urban kids on this board rant and rave about goodfoot and nomad near queen st west somewhere.

check out http://www.blogto.com/bestofindietoronto/results.php for a variety of food suggestions etc...

pick up now magazine and eye magazine for information about events in the city, movies, art, food, clubs, etc...

www.stillepost.ca for indie rock concerts/club events/etc...