japanese denim novice

sneakeraddict

hi all - newbie here.

Wanting to get some Japanese denims - thinking Edwins or Sugar Canes. 36 waist

Trouble is I'm very tall - so I need an inside leg with a final result of 36" inches (e.g. will not shrink past 36")

Is this possible?

Ideally I dont really want to be 'fanatical' about how I wash them either - I just want to throw them in the washing machine with everything else and not worry about them.

Just after a cool pair of Japanese jeans really in nice heavy denim that will fade nicely. Don't like ball-breaker slim though!!

Any tips on brands / advice etc greatly appreciated.

Cheers

J

i'm your same size, and have not had a problem. 36 is often the highest waist size on the most desirable brands, but you're out of luck if you are closer to a 38. raw, and most high end names, tend to run 38 in length, so you're fine on length too. some are even more. like my dior hommes must be friggin' 42 in length or something, and they are a roomy 36. sugar canes will be perfect for you, although i've had a problem with severly twisted seams (irregulars maybe?). the best thing is to try them on; it is very risky to blindy order them online without having an idea of fit. some 36 will not fit you if you are a heavy 36. like rogan's 36 is somewhere closer to a 35. same with prada/jil sander/helmut lang. i guess that must be because an italian 52 is really a 35.

With 36-inch waist, leg length is not usually a problem, even on Japanese jeans. It's when you get down to 30 or 32 inch waists that some brands tend to make the leg lengths shorter to compensate -- difficult for people who are tall and slim.