JEANiuses come in!!! Help = v.Alterations

bathe my ape

I have a few Jeans that are just too long for me. Waist size is perfect yet the length is way too long. I'm used to wearing 34x30 but some of my jeans such as: Evisu, R&R, Diesel(Kratt), Levis 501xx, etc are lengths way too long

Anybody have experience or knowledge altering the lengths making them shorter? Where can I find this service for a cheap price? How short do I have them cut them? blah blah blha

HELP ME! I don't want to ruin my nice selvedge jeans =)

thanks for the quick reply. Sorry for the vagueness...

Of course I want a tailor to do the alterations...I do not trust myself nor do I have the skills. I don't wanna risk ruining my expen$ive jeans icon_smile_shy.gif

I just moved to Los Angeles area...Anybody know how much the service usually costs on average? Any advice and tips? Is it worth doing it??

I'm a noob and dont have much knowledge on these jeans, so bare with me. Grassy-ass

1. bring it to a tailor who has done plenty of denim work before

2. ask the shop where you purchased your jeans if they recommend or have an in-house tailor

3. if 1 and 2 aren't available, find a competent tailor and be very explicit in how you want your jeans hemmed.

in terms of length, make sure you accommodate for shrinkage if you haven't washed your raw jeans before. this amount depends on whether the jeans are sanforized, and various washing temperature settings. normally allow 1.5-2" to be on the safe side for non-sanforized raw denim. you can wear your denim a bit longer than dress trousers, but this depends on taste.

"God is Dead" - Nietzsche icon_smile_angry.gif

"Nietzsche is Dead" - God icon_smile_cool.gif

Thanks Whynotmakeboth...I'll try to check it out. Do you have any idea what the average cost is to alter a pair of jeans? Anybody?

Found this article on the "denim doctor". http://www.julib.com/denimdoctor.html

"receive 15 percent off anything by mentioning juli b" =)