New to (purchasing) raw. Willing to spend up to 300.

rainmaker

Where would you go, if you were starting out today with your first pair of raws? I want a pair to use and abuse for the next long while-- I'm a student, so money is tight, but I'm willing to shell out up to 300 if necessary, because it'll become my second skin and I'm fine with spending that amount if the quality is there.

From reading around SF, I think the frontrunners are:

SSDS

Samurais... probably S5000VX

Canes

What should sway me towards one or the other? The only two factors that I think I can really add are that the SSDS is probably the only pair I should have the chance to try on a retailer, and second that from athletics, I have a bigger seat and thighs-- it seems that the consensus is that the S5000VX fits quite slim throughout the thighs.

Thanks for helping out guys. I apologize in advance if something like this should be in the quick questions sticky.

i wouldn't write off studio d'artisans sd-103. they fade really, really nicely and have great color depth!

. . . but i think your on the right track with the S5000VX bc they have a slightly looser leg and slightly higher rise, but from the way you described your build they will probably fit pretty snug on you. i have the SSDS and they have a 9 inch hem opening, while the samurai's have a 9.25 opening -- so the samurais will probably be just SLIGHTYLY looser than the SSDS. if it helps, my SSDS were really tight on my quads when i first got them, so they would probably be unbearable on you if you got them.

i would search the samurai threads when you have the time to see which size you should buy.

the sammies depend on the waist size I think, on some they look quite tight in the legs but they seem a bit looser on bigger guys. I wouldn't classify them as thight though. compare measurements from threads and/or rakuten stores to see whats the best fit for you.