Philadelphia: Recommendations, Critiques, etc.

azad

What's good everyone; as you can see im new to the boards.

I'm a 3rd Year college student currently residing in the Philly area and I'd like to ask anyone in the know about notable stores, boutiques, bookshops, record shops, etc. i've already been to south street, but that's the extent of my ventures so far. I'm from New York, so I'm not expecting too much down here, but I'd be nice to get some local perspective.

thanks

az

toma a�a�

Edited by azad on Feb 21, 2006 at 05:39 PM

I haven't lived in Philly for awhile, and as a kid generally went to South st. for stuff. Sorry if I offer nothing you don't already know.

On South St., check out timezone, who tend to be a little ahead of the curve on euro-influenced shoes (haven't been there in years) and used to be the lone source for Fred Perry, Merc, etc. Couple of worthwhile thrift shops (timezone has overpriced vintage, as well), but most of these places are pretty picked over. Zipperhead for a proto-hot topic punk store.

Olympia Sports always had some cool kicks in crazy colorways. At least that's where this kid got his sauconys back in the day. I heard of a place called Afficial off of South st, but have not been there. Think they carry Bapestas etc. I believe Philly has a Puma and an Adidas store, as well.

Spaceboy and Repo records for music, repo's branch in Bryn Mawr is also nice. If you're into indie rock etc., Sean Agnew's R5 productions is one of the best all ages promoters in the country. Great acts, small and appropriate venues. r5productions.com

Haven't been to Matthew Izzo but it seems to be the closest thing to streetwear they have there. http://www.matthewizzo.com/catalog/

Boyd's for high-end men's (dress) clothes... http://www.boydsphila.com/index.asp