the myth of raw denim?

chapital

hey guys,

i've been wearing raw denim for about seven months now, just about to wash my first pair. I also just got a job at a jeans shop in melbourne that doesn't sell any raw denim.

Working there has kinda got me thinking about breaking in raw denim, and whether it really is necessary to have unwashed jeans for them to be broken in effectively. A lot of the jeans we stock are labelled as "designed to fade uniquely" and they're not raw.

I've witnessed normal denim being worn in myself as well. About a year ago I bought a mate of mine some real cheap generic dark indigo jeans because he didn't own any jeans at all. I caught up with him recently and to my surprise his jeans had some very well defined whiskers and an outline from his wallet. There wasn't a huge amount of wear but what was there was really well defined, almost as strong as the whiskers I've got on my dry ralphs I've been wearing for five months straight. And I'm pretty sure he would have washed his jeans at least once a week! (This is similar to an example I've seen brought up here a few times, about an old guy with levis that looked amazing but were probably washed hundreds of times).

So back to the normal, un-raw jeans. I have been wondering if you just bought a normal pair of indigo jeans and treated them the same as raw jeans (i.e. got them real dirty, and didn't wash for ages, and maybe starch them to make them stiff) whether they would wear in similarly to raw jeans. I've read here that breaking in one-wash jeans would be fine, as well as cold-soaking jeans before wearing to shrink. Would any pair of undistressed jeans be one-wash, and hence be fine for wearing in?

Anyways, apologies for the rambling post, just something I've been wondering about recently. Personally, I'm gunna keep just wearing raw jeans 'cause I like 'em, but it could be good to know for someone who wants unique jeans but isn't prepared to pay for jeans like nudies, apcs, etc.