Website Development

jl3969

I got asked by my father to create a website for a business that he just started. The problem is I have no experience whatsoever in this at all. However I am eager to learn. Thought I'd start the thread off with some basic questions:

Where is a good online place to start as far as learning?

Any recommended reading materials?

Programs (I'm downloading Dreamweaver right now...)

If you guys could offer me any basic tips and advice, as well as pointing me in the right direction, that'd be great.

i'd suggest telling him to learn to spend money on professional services rather than asking his son to create an amateur website when he has no experience. if he wishes to be taken seriously, a shitty website isn't the way to go.

That was stupid. Just because he is new doesn't mean his effort is going to result in a "shitty website". If he has some taste and takes his time...

Of course, if this is anything involving a shopping cart or some tricky php shit I would get someone to do it.

Thanks, keagan for actual advice

He doesn't expect me to create the entire thing, although he said that'd be nice. I'm more responsible for layouts and content, but I wanted to at least get some sort of foundation in how websites work before I slapped something together.

I'm just trying to figure out the common elements in the corporate identity websites I like. Most seem boring but I guess that's the point? Anything you guys like as far as business websites (shopping carts not necessary)

but yeah, make a grid... align shit to that grid... columns are a good start...

navigation etc.

make sure there is a way to get back to the homepage...

don't use flash

don't fuck up

don't use more than a couple different fonts

do use colours that reflect the business(if he already has colours selected, that's cool too)

try and use css + xhtml if you can (there are too many reasons to list why)