design school

sonagi

im currently a freshman at boston college (finance major) and ive decided to transfer to a design school (pratt, risd, sva, or parsons). however, my brother was telling me that getting a degree in business will help me out later with whatever i do so i should go study design after i finish school. Is this true? IAre the rest of the three years and a half and the shitload of tuition worth it in the end?

i think more than anything it opens up your options much more. Im pretty much in the same boat but i'm planning on graduating from UW with a Communications degree and going straight to an art school where i'll study Visual Comm Design for my second bachelors. Most people would ask...why the fuck are you doing that? Well...Communications in itself just seems like an empty major especially since everyone and their grandmother has a Communications degree, therefore i'm pursuing Visual Com Design to open up my options incase i end up not doing any kind of design work...i still have my communications degree to work with. So yeah...my advice, keep doing business as a backup.

currently i am also in the same boat. stuck in commerce ( 3rd year) and wondering if this is really what i want to do. i would love to do something more creative and to my liking but i think i am going to stick it out. for example alot of photographers i talk to wish they had their business degree. it will always help really is worth it to stick it out. just my opinion.

Here's a bit of advice from somebody who graduated a long time ago.... Find out and do what you're good at first and worry about strategy second. If you really want to be an animator or illustrator, for example, an MBA from Wharton or Stanford or Harvard won't mean shit. They're just not related fields.