Which London neighborhoods should I try to get a hotel in?

superficial

• 2 weeks later...

-chelsea/Kings road - great people watching, coffee shops, bed and breakfast accomodations

-notting hill - good place to meet local hipsters

-south kensington - shopping

-bayswater road, near hyde park - really beautiful scenery, old buildings and classic hotels

-paddington - old transportation hub - some ethnic restaurants and hole in the wall eateries

Basically, I am partial to the western end of london, north and south of the park - all these neighborhoods are in that general vicinity. Less touristy, but still enough going on to keep busy.

• 1 month later...

Victoria... its cheap and the tube is right there, which gives you access to the rest of london. The place will probably be rather small, but your just sleeping there right? im a student and this is what we did in the fall. depends on what you want to get out of your hotel.

<center>All Served with White Rice and Choice of (1) Shrimp Toast, or (1) Spare Rib, or (2) Crabmeat Wonton, or (1) Egg Roll or (1) Soup </center>

• 2 weeks later...

if your budget is *really* tiny, you could consider looking into university housing... some of the city universities rent out their dorms at certain intervals throughout the year. relatively liveable, especially compared to a hostel, and usually quite central.

the decent shopping is usually done around:

- mayfair. the legendary saville row for tailored suits and fineries.

- covent garden. jones, a men's multi-shop, is usually a required stop... and paul smith, self-explanatory.

- knightsbridge, chelsea. skip harrod's unless you feel the need to indulge in tourist trap. try cutler & gross for optical & sunglass frames. hit the conran shop for furniture / lifestyle product.

- notting hill. i find the area overrated, but portobello road market (once weekly) is fun to dig around in.