Headin to China... need some help...

mikeyt52

aight... so i'm gonna be Suzhou for two workday weeks, Shanghai for several days, and Beijing for a weekend. im trying to figure out where to go to shop. places that aren't in travel guides. Places like Reed space, Alife, and all those shops on lafayette in NYC. and on top of clothing stores im lookin for some bookstores like Kinokuniya in Sydney? and maybe some art galleries... i'm a photographer in LA and would love to check out the art scenes at any of these cities. If anyone has any information that'd be awesome... Addresses or websites would be helpfull as well... thanks!

"never disrepect women, cause i love my momma..." -Talib

Edited by mikeyt52 on Sep 13, 2005 at 12:43 AM

hey - i live in Shanghai. you're in for an "interesting" trip.

FIRST, resources - obviously check the rather out-of-date Shanghai section on this site [which I have to think about helping update at some point...] and then go to www.smartshanghai.com which is about the best english language site for things Shanghai nightlife, food and culture although has no fashion section as yet [also: stay tuned]. also the new MOCA is opening next week which should be pretty interesting.

SECOND, in terms of stores along the lines of what you're talking about, shanghai is not that sophisticated a market and honestly what you're looking for isn't what you should come here for - the coolest stuff I find is all the random things at markets and what not. as such, the list is pretty short unless you want to go to stores specializing in factory seconds, overruns, several seasons ago and/or knock-offs [TONS of fake dsquared and y-3 right now] of relatively mainstream brands [see below]. this IS china. outside of that here are some of the favorites off top-of-head:

- insh and shirtflag on taikang lu [shanghai-based ready-to-wear and t-shirt labels]