Learning new languages.

broneck

So I'm really bored and want to learn French. Anyone have any experience learning a new language later in life (i.e. past 18)?

I have a rudimentary knowledge of the language as I was taught a lot of the basics from a young age, but I'd like to get to a level of conversational fluency.

Any programs to investigate? Any to avoid? Is Rosetta Stone a complete crock of shit?

I defer to experts here. If you just want to tutor me for free, I'll take that too.

I have a set of tapes i bootlegged that is rooted in colloquial conversation. i would have to hunt down the publisher so lmk if you're interested. my set is japanese and includes things like "now ask if she would like some beer" and lingual wordplay in the lessons. it isn't spiketv level shit though, it's a solid program.

i've been studying french for around 2 years now via one on one tutoring. i can get by with basic conversation but as mentioned you really need to be with native speakers all the time to become fluent. if you don't, you will forget words and lose your momentum.

gonna learn japanese next year, heads gonna explode. Dude i work with is getting straight HD's doing spanish,french,german and italian, he studies so hard, told me he gets really mixed up sometimes as well.

Edited by jaac