Haruki Murakami

coinlockerbaby

Im a big fan of author Haruki Murakami, perhaps the best known Japanese writer in the West (although I also like Ryu Murakami - another big star in Japan and not related - who wrote the book "Coin Locker Babies" -hence my handle... )

Anyway, I just picked up Haruki's latest, "After Dark", about strange goings on in Tokyo between the hours of midnight and dawn. Its really cool, and kinda chilling.

Any other fans?

What is your favorite Murakami book?

• Replies 154
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I pick one up every now and then and so far I've read about about six. They're all good ... "The Wind up bird chronicles" is a worthwhile epic, or maybe 'Norweigian wood" just for the details ... The ending of "Kafka" was infuriating as I recall.

I always set them to soundtracks when I read them.

Anybody else watch the screen version of Tony Takatami? What did you think?

I love Murakami, I read Wild Sheep Chase as pick your own book thing for HS and acted out a scene with my group and fell in love with his writing style. The class enjoyed our performace of the scene also. It was when the main character accepts the assignment of finding the sheep. I've read about 5 of his books. I read After Dark in one sitting because it was so short. I'm working on Wind Up Bird Chronicle right now.

I read Kafka on the Shore as a choose your own reading assignment my senior year and it was awesome. I'm having trouble getting my hands on Norwegian Wood, anyone know if it's good? Hardboiled on my list!

Norweigian Wood was his breakthrough novel and led to him leaving Japan for a period of self imposed exile as he struggled to come to terms with his celebrity. It's a wonderful book, even more melancholy than his other work.