i'm freaking out over starch...

Egpt

ok, before you start flaming me with "use the search button, noob" sentences, i must say that i used it, and read throughout the whole threads about starch in the hope to see something that would help me.

the thing is, i am portuguese, and although i have a degree in english, i have no idea of what starch actually is, and i am not able to find the literal translation to portuguese, mainly due to the fact that the only dictionary that i currently have at home is a quite basic one.

so, i would like the know what is the actual usage of the starch so i can ask for it at a local drugstore or something.

i also considered doing the home made starch, but i dont know what corn starch is either.

anyone here willing to help me out in this language barrier ?

thanks

Stand tall or don't stand at all

used to keep all clothes creased and unwrinkled. Used in denim to increase visibility of honecombs, whiskers, etc

1. [n] a complex carbohydrate found chiefly in seeds, fruits, tubers, roots and stem pith of plants, notably in corn, potatoes, wheat, and rice; an important foodstuff and used otherwise in adhesives and as fillers and stiffeners for paper and textiles. More...

em português:apresto

2. icon_smile_dissapprove.gif stiffen with starch; "starch clothes". More...

<dar acabamento com esse verniz>

hope that helps. I speak spanish, not portugese, so thats about all i can do haha.

you could make starch by boiling potatoes and then using the leftover water. if you search on google they'd have a nice recipe for you to get the starch out of them to use.

or you could get corn starch from a store and mix it with water. it is used for cooking, to thicken up soups or gravys.