Boston, MA

jon bones

As much as I love NYC, there are career opportunities in Boston that may be worth the hassle of relocation. One of the few things barring a decision is that I don't have a grasp of the social life up there. I'm visiting shortly after Thanksgiving weekend to get a feel for it myself and was wondering if you guys had any suggestions of places I need to check out.

NYC kicks boston's ass. As a current resident, I can tell you there's stuff, but not lots of it. Check out Newbury street, Copley Square and Harvard Square. Those are pretty much the best places as far as shopping is concerned. In terms of social life, there are a lot of pubs all over the place (one of Boston's good points). There's a large sorta bro-ish scene over by Faneuil Hall with clubs, bars and all that. Better areas for clubs and bars are Cambridge, Allston and Brighton.

Thanks for your help! I will avoid that bro scene like the plague...

I'm into bars and pubs, not really into the club scene (would rather frequent a lounge) and very much into indie music (across all genres).

Though it looks like I may have to cancel my account at Midtown comics and start one Newbury!

boston and some areas surrounding beantown are good for indie music. you should check out http://www.mideastclub.com/ for some shows n stuff. i think no age is playing there next week. also, check out stel's http://www.stelsinc.com/ on newburry street. they carry nice stuff, and are really nice people. i go to UNH right now, and i used to live in the neighboring town Portsmouth. huge indie seen there.

Thanks for your help! I will avoid that bro scene like the plague...

I'm into bars and pubs, not really into the club scene (would rather frequent a lounge) and very much into indie music (across all genres).

Though it looks like I may have to cancel my account at Midtown comics and start one Newbury!