University in Paris

captain5640

Has anyone gone to university in Paris? Which schools are there and what are the plusses and minuses of each? basically, I'm looking for any and all info that I can get.

Thanks

I'm in International Studies and am trying to decide between a minor in business or possibly history. The main focus of my program is sociology, poli-sci, and language.

You speak french, oui?

Oui.

Only a small amount right now though. I'm in my second semester of it at the University level and doing some other things to help myself progress faster.

(basically simple statements and questions at this moment. Definitely not enough to respond in French...)

I might as well as use this topic to ask..

What are the chances of an American getting into a grand ecole?

I'm looking at trying to attend the Ecole du Lourve in a couple of years.

I currently know very, very little French although I plan on taking classes next year.

Captain, you should definitely try the Institut d'Etudes Politiques (aka Sciences Po).

That's an important ecole, and there is a special admission policy for foreign students. Considering what you want to study, I guess this is what you should try first. For a grande école, it is quite cheap (scholarship fees are calculated on the payer's income), and its diploma is really well recognized.

But it's very selective, at least for the french students (I know what I'm talking about :( ), I don't really know for the foreigners. I think it's mostly an interview, and that if you're motivated enough, you can succeed easily (but again, I'm not sure).

you can take a look here

But it's very selective, at least for the french students (I know what I'm talking about :( ), I don't really know for the foreigners. I think it's mostly an interview, and that if you're motivated enough, you can succeed easily (but again, I'm not sure).

Just an interview for foreigners?

Know anything else about the grande ecoles?