...ILLMATIC Appreciation Thread...

Brooklyn Zoo

I've been listening to this album for 7 of my 19 years on this earth and it NEVER gets old.

nas%20illmatic%20album%20cover%20pic.jpg

Recently, I wrote a research paper on the '94 classic. Hopefully most are familiar with the record, so I thought I'd share some interesting tidbits about Nas and the best hip-hop album ever created.

The Line-Up Card

XlreY-jkwWg

'94 Interview Transcript

http://home.gwu.edu/~noz/nas1.html

Original 5 Mic Source Review

http://home.gwu.edu/~noz/nas2.html

"The World Is Yours" Q-Tip Remix

YtjbmFOyQvk

but above all...

Pre-Illmatic Nas Mixtape

(google and download IMMEDIATELY)

feel free to add your own opinions and links

not sure if Ktothe is serious...but what IS wack is the fact that you listed "escobar" as a tag/something to have to do with NASTY Nas..."esco" thankfully was non-existant at the time Illmatic dropped...although I do love the "esco'esque" It Was Written album...as well as the first version of I Am...shit even Nastradamus had shit on it...Nas was still sharp lyrically and his flow was still something that young people aspired to take from/bite off of...(IMO, unlike today, although I think he's still relevant and capable of making a good song)...his ears and choice in producer's suffered after I Am got bootlegged and he started listening to the label.

But back to Illmatic...this was the pure Nas...no cross-over or sell-out Nas...no "big willie" Nas...no "(fake) thug" Nas...just Nasty. He came out at an incredible period in Hip Hop, surrounded by some of the greatest producers of the time...cats who all were behind the makings of classic albums (except LES...but that was definitely a career changing event for him)...how could he fail if he wasn't nice? I'm sure they'd send him back to the writer's bench if it wasn't something on point...or they wouldn't have worked with homey if he didn't really have the potential/talent.

Great album.