Japanese language and career

So I've been thinking about doing an exchange year in Japan and looked it up yesterday and it seems like I can get a scholarship and go to Waseda for one year.

What I want to know, though, is how well speaking Japanese and/or having experience from the country would benefit me, and certainly know how well it would compare to Chinese in terms of $$$$$$$.

Obviously Chinese is THE language to learn, but I'm hoping that Japanese will also attract [western] employers.

I'm studying Industrial Engineering and Management which is basically engineering + economy & management. I'm completely indifferent to the engineering part though.

It seems that I can choose to either study something that relates to my program, liberal arts, or the Japanese language for one year. I'm leaning towards learning Japanese. If I could take some management or economic courses that would also be interesting.

Obviously no one can predict the future and tell me how it'll work out if I decide to take Japanese, so let's put it this way; how has knowing Japanese affected you and your career? Would you recommend it to someone else?

One of my wife's majors was Japanese. She studied there for a total of about 2 years and, while not fluent, was certainly quite proficient in a conversational and academic context. She managed to swing a sweet Japanese society fellowship out of it for law school, but when it came time to go job-hunting, it didn't really amount to much. Not being of Japanese descent and not being able to speak Japanese well in a male-domniated business context, which is quite different from the Japanese that is taught in universities, did her in. Most American men w/o Japanese-speaking family sound very effeminate, I'm told.