Who has worked in London/WHV in London?

soisbelle

Thinking of doing it next year, and would love to hear your stories.

What did you do for work, how long did you stay, what part of London did you live in?

Did you travel around much?

What did you enjoy the most/least?

I have a friend who is currently 7 months in to her WHV. She is an interior designer by trade. She is currently on her second contract job. Shes moved around within central London initially living in Chelsea and now just outside of the city in Southwark. As far as i know she loves it. The only compplaint she has is that it is super expensive BUT also on salary jobs she gets paid once a month. The majority of her travelling has been done to other countries (the flights within london are cheap). Shes been to Dubai, Venice, Milan and Paris

i used to live in london for about 4 years, had an aweseom time, worked with clothing and later on recruitment. its an expensive city to live in but it all depends on where you live and as most people tend to share which helps. generally you could say aussies/antipodeans tend to stick with west london (sheperds bush, earls court and so on) and its usually a really good atmosphere in those household, i personally found ehm the easiet to get along with :D

as for travel, london is a great hub and most people visiting london from your side of the globe tend to travel around quite a bit. you'll easily find people to go with once youre in town.

best thing: easy, its all the great people you meet and the antics you get up to. lots of stuff to see, and easy find a job and place to stay. great nightlife, probably the best and most diverse in europe. they serve imperial pints!

crap things: expensive, and even for quite a bit of money people (estate agents, watch out for these fuckers) still try and rip you off. the weather isnt that fab compared to what youre used to hehe. they serve imperial pints..

hope this helps out mate! now get goin!