Moving to Japan in a few months. What can I do NOW to prepare?

soundune

Ciao superfutur-ers

I will be moving to Japan after graduation in March. I will be living there for 2 to 3 years. Is there anything I can do in the present, besides the obvious - take japanese language classes - to prepare for the years ahead? Thanks in advance for any and all help!

buona notte

• Replies 175
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Well, I've never been to Japan, so I'm not an expert, but maybe a useful item that you might want to find out about is the J Rail pass.

For a set fee, they give you unlimited rides on most railways in Japan. The usefulness depends on how often you plan to travel throughout Japan. They come in 7 day, 14 day and 21 day passes (Like a Metrocard, if youre from New York City...I'm not sure if other places use it in the US. Anyway...). You can even reserve seats before you board. You can only purchase this pass OUTSIDE of Japan. The price may or may not be an issue for you. Depending on your plans, you may want to get other passes instead. The J-Rail Pass cant be used everywhere and it cant get you certain accommodations. Here is a break down of most of them http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2357.html

You might also want to see if you can open a bank account there. You can only do this if you have an Alien Registration Card (required for those staying in JP over 90 days). If you want, you can use your own credit card at some post offices and use the international ATMs if it's more convenient.

I'd also suggest getting a mobile phone too. Your cell might not work in Japan, so try getting a cheap prepaid one, or whichever one suits your needs.

Miscallaneous stuff, make sure to get outlet/plug converters. It shouldnt really be a problem I think, but it doesnt hurt to be prepared. Shop at Uniqlo, have fun, enjoy yourself and what not.