Jump to content




buy your superad here !!

Photo

Ask an Apple Nerd.

apple macs iphone imac macbook ipad

  • Please log in to reply
146 replies to this topic

#1 variegate

variegate

    superbored

  • member
  • Pip
  • 296 posts
  • location:SEA
  • talents:Design, code, photography, video, nerdery, etc.
  • occupation:Art Director

Posted 09 February 2012 - 07:15 PM

I have a retarded amount of Mac/Apple/iPhone/iPad/OS X/etc knowledge about technical information, historical information, current rumors, OS 9 through OS X, iPhones, iPad, apps, applications, Adobe apps, design software, editing software, photography, etc.

Please make my retarded technical information useful as I don't know what to do with it.

Either technical help, spec information, technical explanations, recommendations, etc

Also have a lot of experience with Adobe apps, mostly Photoshop but also Illustrator, Flash, Lightroom, etc. Aperture & Final Cut also.

Ask me (almost) anything.
  • 2

#2 t3hcoke

t3hcoke

    semibored

  • member
  • Pip
  • 820 posts
  • style:none

Posted 10 February 2012 - 12:16 AM

are you an apple genius?
  • 1

#3 akuma no uta

akuma no uta

    superjunkie

  • member
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,143 posts
  • style:none
  • attitude:none
  • location:LA

Posted 10 February 2012 - 05:26 AM

Please tell me the iPhone 5 won't have a bigger screen? I don't want a bigger screen.
  • 0
time takes its toll on us... this changes everything.

#4 variegate

variegate

    superbored

  • member
  • Pip
  • 296 posts
  • location:SEA
  • talents:Design, code, photography, video, nerdery, etc.
  • occupation:Art Director

Posted 11 February 2012 - 12:54 AM

are you an apple genius?




No. I am not an Apple Genius - but I probably know as much as some of them.



Please tell me the iPhone 5 won't have a bigger screen? I don't want a bigger screen.




iPhone 5 probably won't have a bigger screen - if it does, it will be only slightly bigger while keeping the phone the same size (less bezel around the edges)
current is 3.5", iPhone 5 will either be the same or move up slightly to 4" but the phone will be the same size. It will basically be a screen with the mic at the top and the home button at the bottom.
I REALLY hope that the new home button is not electro-static (touch) and retains its current mechanical button design.

The Apple displays that had electro static buttons were terrible.
  • 0

#5 Egpt

Egpt

    postwhore

  • member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,518 posts

Posted 11 February 2012 - 01:12 AM

what color was steve jobs poop?
  • 3

#6 aso2004

aso2004

    superbored

  • member
  • Pip
  • 691 posts

Posted 11 February 2012 - 08:41 AM

Green from the apple..
  • 0

#7 Egpt

Egpt

    postwhore

  • member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,518 posts

Posted 11 February 2012 - 08:51 AM

so we can assume he had a preference for granny smith's?
  • 0

#8 blm14

blm14

    superfreak

  • member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,352 posts

Posted 13 February 2012 - 12:17 AM

most of the apple "geniuses" are salesmen. In any given store there's like 2-3 guys out of 50 who are at the level of a second-line helpdesk tech. Any third-party apple reseller will be PACKED with people who are worth 12 geniuses. :)
  • 0

4.0 opened the floodgates to the mentally incapable. JAWNS! JAWNS! JAWNS! (soak?)


#9 youre sketch

youre sketch

    superbored

  • member
  • Pip
  • 348 posts
  • style:slob
  • attitude:paranoid
  • location:Halliburton boardroom

Posted 14 February 2012 - 08:16 PM

most of the apple "geniuses" are salesmen. In any given store there's like 2-3 guys out of 50 who are at the level of a second-line helpdesk tech. Any third-party apple reseller will be PACKED with people who are worth 12 geniuses. :)


yeah, this is my experience in any apple retail location. They always have to ask someone. Dudes at Best Buy are better and the local apple place up the street know anything I need to know.


also, why can I never go to the apple store without wading through 40 thousand people playing with shit like they have never seen an apple product before?
  • 0
takethat, takethat

#10 standard

standard

    post rank

  • member
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 14 February 2012 - 08:24 PM

also, why can I never go to the apple store without wading through 40 thousand people playing with shit like they have never seen an apple product before?


so true man, fucking annoying ain't it
  • 0

#11 ROYALEFATALE

ROYALEFATALE

    postwhore

  • member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,286 posts
  • style:next level
  • attitude:hater
  • location:the trap

Posted 16 February 2012 - 12:17 AM

is it normal for the lights on power supplies to fail? (it still charges)
  • 0

how's blanka lame


#12 red

red

    postwhore

  • member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,224 posts
  • location:oakland.

Posted 16 February 2012 - 09:34 AM

Why the fuck does itunes suck so much?
  • 1
[URL="http://www.superfuture.com/supertalk/showthread.php?t=165105"][/URL]

#13 blm14

blm14

    superfreak

  • member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,352 posts

Posted 16 February 2012 - 05:24 PM

^ this. I don't even bother with it anymore. More buggy, crash-prone POS software package evar.
  • 0

4.0 opened the floodgates to the mentally incapable. JAWNS! JAWNS! JAWNS! (soak?)


#14 variegate

variegate

    superbored

  • member
  • Pip
  • 296 posts
  • location:SEA
  • talents:Design, code, photography, video, nerdery, etc.
  • occupation:Art Director

Posted 16 February 2012 - 09:17 PM

is it normal for the lights on power supplies to fail? (it still charges)


Hmmm - no. That's abnormal.
The light on the power supply itself doesnt light up? Or the MagSafe connection light?
Or are you talking about a battery?

I'm assuming a laptop - which model and how old?


Why the fuck does itunes suck so much?


I don't have too many problems with it.
Are you on OS X or Windows?
I have no experience with it on Windows - it runs pretty smooth on the Mac.

If you are on a Mac - download the "Combo Updater" for the version of OS X you have (if you have Lion, download the 10.7.3 Combo Updater) and install over the top.

I would highly recommend downloading the Combo Updater from http://apple.com/support/downloads/ instead of the typical Software Update
  • 0

#15 grundletaint

grundletaint

    superbored

  • member
  • Pip
  • 337 posts

Posted 16 February 2012 - 10:02 PM

when i use the camera connection kit to import to the ipad, i can't seem to get them off the ipad. when it's connected to the computer, and even with photo stream, the only album that works is the camera roll. imported pics get put in a different folder and aren't accessible and the only way to get rid of them is to individually delete them. i was hoping to use it to dump photos off my camera and then get them on the computer from the ipad but it doesn't seem to work that way.

is there a way around this?
  • 0

#16 ROYALEFATALE

ROYALEFATALE

    postwhore

  • member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,286 posts
  • style:next level
  • attitude:hater
  • location:the trap

Posted 17 February 2012 - 09:25 AM

Hmmm - no. That's abnormal.
The light on the power supply itself doesnt light up? Or the MagSafe connection light?
Or are you talking about a battery?

I'm assuming a laptop - which model and how old?


2009 MacBook, just the little light on the magnetic connector
  • 0

how's blanka lame


#17 grundletaint

grundletaint

    superbored

  • member
  • Pip
  • 337 posts

Posted 17 February 2012 - 01:47 PM

the light on mine is intermittent now.
  • 0

#18 variegate

variegate

    superbored

  • member
  • Pip
  • 296 posts
  • location:SEA
  • talents:Design, code, photography, video, nerdery, etc.
  • occupation:Art Director

Posted 17 February 2012 - 07:59 PM

when i use the camera connection kit to import to the ipad, i can't seem to get them off the ipad. when it's connected to the computer, and even with photo stream, the only album that works is the camera roll. imported pics get put in a different folder and aren't accessible and the only way to get rid of them is to individually delete them. i was hoping to use it to dump photos off my camera and then get them on the computer from the ipad but it doesn't seem to work that way.

is there a way around this?



Hmmm - a little difficult to tell what might be going on here but you should be able to import them into iPhoto by dragging, importing or otherwise.
I don't have a lot of experience with that as I shoot mostly DSLR or just use the iPhone camera.
One thing you might try is connecting your iPad via cable and then using 'Image Capture' to view the pics on your iPad
You should be able to copy them off to wherever you want from there.



2009 MacBook, just the little light on the magnetic connector


Ahh - that's probably not a problem - unless it's not charging.
Any fraying where the cord meets the magsafe connector?
Is is the 'straight on' magSafe connection where the cord points right into the computer, or is it the perpendicular one where the cord comes in alongside the computer's edge?
The early ones where the cord pointed straight to the computer had major issues with fraying and there is acurrently a class action suit about it.
http://www.adaptersettlement.com/
  • 0

#19 Kasper

Kasper

    superjunkie

  • member
  • Pip
  • 1,763 posts
  • location:514

Posted 17 February 2012 - 09:51 PM

^ this. I don't even bother with it anymore. More buggy, crash-prone POS software package evar.


The pc version has been unable to cope with large library size for as long as i can remember. i've had 100+ gb of music pretty much since iTunes came out and even with the most powerful of computer, it has always been slow and very buggy. For some reason, the mac version is much more stable and faster.

Anyone having trouble with music on iphone / ipad since getting iTunes Match? i have an iPad 1 and if i turn on showing full library (would be 100% easier if switch was in music vs. in setting where it currently is btw), it crashes every single time i open music, very annoying. Ipad 1 hardware is probably part of the problem, but pretty annoying nonetheless.
  • 0

#20 blm14

blm14

    superfreak

  • member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,352 posts

Posted 17 February 2012 - 10:27 PM

^ yeah but getting a mac just to use iTunes is sort of missing the point ;)
  • 0

4.0 opened the floodgates to the mentally incapable. JAWNS! JAWNS! JAWNS! (soak?)


#21 mitcho

mitcho

    bored

  • member
  • Pip
  • 187 posts
  • location:cc/ww, ca

Posted 17 February 2012 - 11:02 PM

i wish apple let me sync my iphone with winamp.
  • 0

#22 variegate

variegate

    superbored

  • member
  • Pip
  • 296 posts
  • location:SEA
  • talents:Design, code, photography, video, nerdery, etc.
  • occupation:Art Director

Posted 18 February 2012 - 12:22 AM

The pc version has been unable to cope with large library size for as long as i can remember. i've had 100+ gb of music pretty much since iTunes came out and even with the most powerful of computer, it has always been slow and very buggy. For some reason, the mac version is much more stable and faster.

Anyone having trouble with music on iphone / ipad since getting iTunes Match? i have an iPad 1 and if i turn on showing full library (would be 100% easier if switch was in music vs. in setting where it currently is btw), it crashes every single time i open music, very annoying. Ipad 1 hardware is probably part of the problem, but pretty annoying nonetheless.


It could be dependancies in Windows that are unstable, it could be bugs in iTunes, or it could just be poor programming by Apple.
iTunes is much more integrated into OS X since Apple owns both.
That being said - 100GB is a LOT of music and I don't think you can honestly say you listen to all of that :)
Pairing down is always good.

No idea about iTunes Match - that's a pretty new thing and I don't know much about it.
  • 0

#23 ROYALEFATALE

ROYALEFATALE

    postwhore

  • member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,286 posts
  • style:next level
  • attitude:hater
  • location:the trap

Posted 18 February 2012 - 02:33 AM

Posted Image
this version, it's just that tiny dot on the connector, not a big deal since it still charges
  • 0

how's blanka lame


#24 swagg

swagg

    post rank

  • member
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • style:cool
  • attitude:obsessed

Posted 18 February 2012 - 11:38 AM

k i have a question for you. when i import pictures from my iphone 4s to my computer via photostream or cable they appear all black. why
  • 1

#25 grundletaint

grundletaint

    superbored

  • member
  • Pip
  • 337 posts

Posted 20 February 2012 - 10:05 PM

Hmmm - a little difficult to tell what might be going on here but you should be able to import them into iPhoto by dragging, importing or otherwise.
I don't have a lot of experience with that as I shoot mostly DSLR or just use the iPhone camera.
One thing you might try is connecting your iPad via cable and then using 'Image Capture' to view the pics on your iPad
You should be able to copy them off to wherever you want from there.



it is with a dslr. i use the camera kit to import pics from the SD card to the ipad. the problem is that they create and import to a new folder on the ipad (not into the camera roll where all screenshots and other pics go)

itunes, photostream, and even hooking it up to a PC and opening it as a drive don't recognize anything unless it's in the camera roll and there doesn't seem to be a way to import to that destination. basically, the pics just get stuck on the ipad unless i either delete them individually or email them to myself.
  • 0

#26 variegate

variegate

    superbored

  • member
  • Pip
  • 296 posts
  • location:SEA
  • talents:Design, code, photography, video, nerdery, etc.
  • occupation:Art Director

Posted 21 February 2012 - 08:57 PM

k i have a question for you. when i import pictures from my iphone 4s to my computer via photostream or cable they appear all black. why


Hmmmm - ok that's a weird one.
There are many possible solutions - I'd try right clicking a black photo in iPhoto and select "Show in Finder" and see if you can open it in Preview or Safari.
If it's black in either of those - you know it's getting transferred improperly.
If it works - then something is wrong with iPhoto. There might be an option to rebuild the database or something.
HOWEVER - if you're on a PC - all bets are off and you're probably screwed.


it is with a dslr. i use the camera kit to import pics from the SD card to the ipad. the problem is that they create and import to a new folder on the ipad (not into the camera roll where all screenshots and other pics go)

itunes, photostream, and even hooking it up to a PC and opening it as a drive don't recognize anything unless it's in the camera roll and there doesn't seem to be a way to import to that destination. basically, the pics just get stuck on the ipad unless i either delete them individually or email them to myself.


You have Windows?
You might be SOL.
  • 0

#27 fobsquad

fobsquad

    superbored

  • member
  • Pip
  • 675 posts
  • style:buffalo
  • location:dirty jerzee
  • talents:woldpray
  • denim:pimp

Posted 22 February 2012 - 06:43 AM

You have Windows?
You might be SOL.

great advice apple nerd
  • -1

#28 OTL

OTL

    bored

  • member
  • Pip
  • 272 posts

Posted 22 February 2012 - 11:35 PM

did apple deliberately block Android from syncing with iPhoto?
  • 0

#29 grundletaint

grundletaint

    superbored

  • member
  • Pip
  • 337 posts

Posted 23 February 2012 - 03:26 AM

I have a windows computer at work and plugged the iPad into it to read it as a drive and see if I could get the pics off that way. But thanks for fanboying out because you can't solve this issue....
  • 0

#30 fobsquad

fobsquad

    superbored

  • member
  • Pip
  • 675 posts
  • style:buffalo
  • location:dirty jerzee
  • talents:woldpray
  • denim:pimp

Posted 23 February 2012 - 05:43 AM

I have a windows computer at work and plugged the iPad into it to read it as a drive and see if I could get the pics off that way. But thanks for fanboying out because you can't solve this issue....

what about inserting the sd card into the windows computer? most laptops circa 2000 should have a slot.

i think it might have to do with the dslr creating a DCIM folder as opposed to just storing the photos. or maybe your camera save format is in *.raw? or maybe the ipad will only camera roll pics with a certain resolution? sry no idea, i dont even have an ipod (anymore)
  • 0





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: apple, macs, iphone, imac, macbook, ipad