Tokyo Research

DocB

I'm a PhD student in the UK moving to Tokyo in September to carry out research into the emergence of artists' collectives in Tokyo as a lens to examine aspects of Japanese identity, concepts of the creative process and the shaping of a city through artistic practice.

I wanted to ask the forum if there is an area prevalent in Tokyo for young art activity (such as Soho in NYC or Hoxton in London)?

Also, any artists interested in being involved in the research please get in touch.

• 4 months later...

Hey DocB,

Sounds like your puting together a great paper on Japanese Youth Culture. I'd love to read it when it's finished. I'm heading to Japan for a few weeks at the end of Aug (WE LOVE JAPAN 2005 TOUR). Let me know if you find any artists you think I should see when I'm in Japan. I'm an illustrator and designer in Miami. If i can help gather info for your paper while I'm there let me know. You can contact me direct from my web site.

John-

http://www.johnlacko.com

B-{D>